What is CEATAL?

Since 2009, the Business Technical Advisory Committee on Labor Matters (CEATAL) is a permanent consultative body of the Inter-American Conference of Ministers of Labor (IACML) of the Organization of American States (OAS) which promotes the effective participation of business organizations in the labor field. CEATAL gives technical advice on the planning and execution of programs that are important for entrepreneurs, or involve their participation in economic and social development activities at national and international level.

CEATAL is comprised of one representative from the business organizations of each OAS member. As per the regulations and during the meeting of the IACML, CEATAL elects an Executive Committee from amongst its members. The members of the Executive Committee for the 2015 – 2017 mandate are as follows:

President Daniel Funes de Rioja, UIA (Argentina)
First Vice-President
Alberto Echavarría, ANDI (Colombia)
Substitute: Ronnie Goldberg (USA)
Second Vice-President

Brian Burkett, CEC (Canada)
Substitute: Juan Mailhos, CNCS (Uruguay)


Sylvia Lorena Teixeira de Souza (Brazil)
Octavio Carvajal
, CONCAMIN (México)
Substitute: Pablo Rodriguez Posadas (Mexico)
John Craig, CEC (Canada)
Substitute: Colin A. Walcott (Barbados)
Armando Urtecho (Honduras)
Substitute: Aurelio Linero (Panama)
Juan José Fraschini (Uruguay)
Substitute: Jorge Roig (Venezuela)
Julio César Barrenechea (Peru)
Substitute: Manuel Terán (Ecuador)

Coordinator María Paz Anzorreguy (IOE)

The coordination of CEATAL's participation within the framework of the IACML is undertaken by the International Organization of Employers (IOE) directly with the OAS. When a representative of the employers' organization is invited to a meeting within this framework, his participation is on behalf of CEATAL and of the employers' organizations of the region.